It appears that you are using IE5 for the Mac. This site may not look correct in this old browser. Please upgrade to a more modern browser such as FireFox.

International Workshop on
Ultrafast Chemical Physics 2008


The final version (16 Oct. '08) of the conference programme book (PDF, 12.3MB) is available. You will receive it in printed form (colour) when checking in at the meeting.

The International Workshop on Ultrafast Chemical Physics (UCP ’08) will be held at the University of Strathclyde in Glasgow on Oct 30-31st 2008.

Registration deadline: 1 September 2008
Poster-only abstract deadline: 1 September 2008 (the deadline for oral contributions has passed)

The two day workshop aims to encompass the current state of the art in ultrafast chemical physics and to include invited seminars and contributions from leading international researchers. The meeting also coincides with the occasion of the award to Prof. Robin Hochstrasser of a Fellowship of the Royal Society of Edinburgh and as such Prof. Hochstrasser has agreed to present the plenary address at the workshop.

Robin Hochstrasser a bit youngerInvited talks will be given covering a range of topics:

  • ultrafast two-dimensional infrared spectroscopy (2D-IR) for the determination of the structure of biological molecules in solution
  • ultrafast spectroscopy of water and especially hydrogen-bonding in water
  • the theory of hydrogen-bond dynamics
  • ultrafast X-ray absorption spectroscopy for 3D structure determination
  • bio-surface spectroscopy using sum-frequency generation
  • terahertz spectroscopy

In addition to a full scientific programme, the meeting will include a conference dinner and complementary whisky tasting at a leading Glasgow restaurant.

There is no registration fee for this meeting, the costs (including conference dinner) having been met by sponsors. Further, we are pleased to be able to offer travel bursaries of around £100 for graduate students who contribute to the meeting.

The Organising Committee of UCP’08:

Prof Klaas Wynne
Prof David Klug
Dr Angus Bain
Prof Stephen Meech
Dr Neil Hunt

Confirmed invited speakers

  • Prof Robin Hochstrasser (University of Pennsylvania) - Plenary address
  • Prof Casey Hynes (CNRS, Paris and University of Colorado, Boulder)
  • Prof Charles Schmuttenmaer (Yale)
  • Prof Majed Chergui (Ecole polytechnique fédérale de Lausanne)
  • Prof Mischa Bonn (AMOLF, Amsterdam)
  • Prof Peter Hamm (University of Zurich)
  • Prof Thomas Elsaesser (Max Born Institute, Berlin)

The UCP poster (PDF, 261kB)